Unraveling Oliver

Unraveling Oliver

  • 1
A chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of human behavior and the nature of evil.

“I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.”

Oliver Ryan, a handsome, charismatic, and successful man, is happily married to his wife, Alice, who illustrates the award-winning children’s books he writes and devotedly cares for him in their comfortable suburban home. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease—until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers blows to Alice that render her comatose.

As Alice hovers between life and death in her hospital bed, the couple’s circle of friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such an astonishing act of savagery. Oliver tells his story, peeling away the layers to reveal a life of shame, envy, breath-taking deception, and masterful manipulation. As details about his past catch up with him, even he is in for a shock.

Unraveling Oliver is a complex, disturbing, and brilliantly written page-turner about how and why a human being transforms into a sociopath.
  • Simon & Schuster | 
  • 288 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781501191282 | 
  • February 2018
List Price $13.99 (price may vary by retailer)

Resources

To download a file to your computer right-click on the link and choose 'save file as'

High Resolution Images

Any use of an author photo must include its respective photo credit

More Books from this Author

Think you’re going to finish that chapter and go to bed? Think again. The Up All Night: Simon & Schuster Canada Thriller Sampler features excerpts from some of our top-notch writers. With page-turning plots and edge-of-your-seat suspense, these reads come with an all-nighter guarantee.

Tuck in with these heart-pounding, twisty reads from our Spring 2018 list. Follow along in an addictive thriller in the vein of Dexter and The Talented Mr. Ripley. Explore human...

About the Author

Liz Nugent
Photograph by Beta Bajgartova

Liz Nugent

Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theater, and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written critically acclaimed short stories both for children and adults, as well as the novels Unraveling Oliver and Lying in Wait. She lives in Dublin. Visit her at LizNugent.ie or follow her on Twitter at @Lizzienugent.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US