Skip to Main Content

Between You, Me, and the Honeybees

LIST PRICE $26.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER
See More Retailers

Perfect for fans of Jenn Bennett and Sarah Dessen, this swoon-worthy novel follows a teen girl during her California summer of beekeeping, secrets, and stolen kisses.

Josie Hazeldine has just graduated from high school, and she’s ready for a summer full of sunshine, beekeeping, and…lying to her mom.

Josie’s mom couldn’t be more proud of her daughter going to college, something she never got to do. But Josie wants to stay in her California hometown and take over the family business, Hazeldine Honey. So that college acceptance her mom is thrilled about? Yeah, Josie turned it down. But she’s going to come clean—just not yet.

The neighbor’s artsy, adorable grandson who’s in town for the summer makes Josie’s web of lies even more tangled. He’s into Josie and the feeling is very mutual, but he’s a Blumstein—the sworn enemy of the Hazeldines and their number one competition in the annual Honey Show at the end of July. As their secret fling goes on, Josie knows she’s getting in way too deep to leave him behind when summer’s over.

Can Josie keep the boy she can’t stop thinking about without the secrets she’s juggling crashing down around her?

Photo by Sarah Deragon

Amelia Diane Coombs writes books for young adults. Back in the day, she majored in English and went on to receive her MFA in creative writing. Now, she writes unlikable female protagonists, positive mental health representation, and swoony romances with soft boys. She’s a Northern California transplant living in Seattle, Washington, with her partner and their Siberian cat. When she isn’t writing or reading, Amelia happily fills her days with beekeeping, card and tabletop games, hiking, and volunteering with cats. She’s the author of Keep My Heart in San Francisco and Between You, Me, and the Honeybees.

"With a star-crossed couple to root for and a “buzz” worthy setting, Between You, Me, and the Honeybees explores the joys and challenges found in realistic relationships. Many teens will see themselves in Josie’s coming of age experience. Authentic and heartwarming."

– Laura Taylor Namey, New York Times bestselling author of A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow

"A sunny, engaging exploration of all different types of relationships and what it looks like to chart your own course. I loved the depth, the honey-sweet romance, and most of all, Ezra."

– Jenna Evans Welch, New York Times Bestselling Author of Love & Gelato

"A big-hearted and compassionate look at the complexity of growing up, navigating relationships, and figuring out how you want your life to look. Amelia Diane Coombs has created a wonderful character in Josie, whose struggles with anxiety feel completely believable. I loved this sweet romance set in the world of beekeeping!"

– Kerry Winfrey, author of Waiting for Tom Hanks

Loved this so much! A honey-sweet romance filled with realistically portrayed characters. The anxiety mental health representation feels authentic, and Coombs's fascinating setting, beekeeping, is icing on the cake.

– Jenn Bennett, author of Alex, Approximately and Starry Eyes

More books from this author: Amelia Diane Coombs