Skip to Main Content

Maggie Sparks Book 2: Maggie and the Swimming Pool Sharks

Book #2 of Maggie Sparks
Illustrated by Esther Hernando
Published by Silver Dolphin Books
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

LIST PRICE $7.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER
See More Retailers

About The Book

Maggie Sparks does NOT like swimming. But when Maggie’s mom signs her up for swimming lessons, Maggie is determined to use her magic powers to get into the elite Sharks swimming group. Kids ages 6 to 8 will love the second title in the magical adventures of mischievous witch Maggie Sparks.

Swimming is the worst! It's wet and cold, and Maggie Sparks doesn’t like swimming because she isn’t good at it! But Maggie is a super powerful, super talented witch, and when her mom signs her up for swimming lessons, she is determined to use her powers to get into the Sharks, the best swimming group and help her best friend, Arthur, along the way. Maggie Sparks and the Swimming Pool Sharks is the second title in the Maggie Sparks chapter book series, perfect for emerging readers ages 6 to 8. With illustrations throughout and text geared toward kids just starting to read chapter books independently, spunky witch Maggie Sparks is back with her humor, magic, and charm as she tackles swimming lessons, her annoying cousin Ella, and being a great friend to her pal Arthur. Full of humor, magic, and the familiar story of learning to swim, this delightful chapter book is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ramona Quimby, and Judy Moody.

About The Author

Steve Smallman has been illustrating children’s books for more than 40 years and writing his own stories for slightly less. He also teaches illustration workshops in schools, including mural painting. Steve is the author of Smelly Peter the Great Pea Eater, winner of the Sheffield Children’s Book Award 2009. When he’s not writing or drawing, Steve enjoys watching films and television, gardening, and walking in the countryside.

About The Illustrator

My name is Esther, I was born in 1988 in Sabadell (Barcelona), Spain, where I still live with my partner, my cat, and a bunny. I remember as a child that I always filled my school books with drawings and scribbles in class, and when I got home, I kept drawing. I studied comic and illustration in Escola Joso for one year, and since then, I am a self-taught artist focusing on children's illustrations. My work is expressive, fun, colourful, and textured. I always work digitally since it allows me to work anywhere—from a coffee shop to the sofa of my house. In addition to illustration, I like gastronomy, movies and television, video games, and hanging out with the people I love. I want to make you smile with my illustrations.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Silver Dolphin Books (May 13, 2025)
  • Length: 112 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781667206646
  • Ages: 6 - 8

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images