Morning in America

Illustrated by Claudia Aguirre
LIST PRICE $25.99
About The Book

"Sharp, snarky and slick, Visaggio gives us a clever rewind to an unfolding mystery set in the early 80s." –– CHUCK WENDIG

It's 1983, and when mysterious monsters start overtaking a small town in Ohio, it's up to a teenage girl gang to save the day in this new story for fans of Paper Girls and Stranger Things.

Created by powerhouse team Magdalene Visaggio (Eternity Girl) and Claudia Aguirre (Kim & Kim), Morning in America follows the Sick Sisters, a group of friends and small-time delinquents who may be the only people standing between their suffocatingly small town and complete apocalyptic destruction. The Sisters know there's something wrong in Tucker, Ohio—and they also know that the authorities aren't doing anything about it. When the girls take the investigation into their own hands, they run into wild conspiracy theories, abandoned homes... and something that screeches in the night. At the end of the world, four girls with bikes and baseball bats are there to stand in the way.

About The Author
Magdalene Visaggio

Magdalene Visaggio is the Eisner and GLAAD Media Award-nominated writer behind Kim & Kim, Eternity Girl, Dazzler: X Song, Transformers vs Visionaries, and Morning in America. A lifelong comics reader, she studied English at Virginia Commonwealth University and did graduate work in Ethics & Moral Theology at Seton Hall before dropping out to focus on writing comics where people hit each other with guitars. When not writing, she's probably passed out on her couch at three in the morning with a cat on top of her while Netflix asks if she wants to continue watching Star Trek: The Next Generation. She lives in Manhattan.

About The Illustrator
CA

Queer comic book artist and writer. GLAAD Award Nominee and Will Eisner Award nominee. Co-founder of Boudika Comics, where she self-publishes comics. Currently working for Black Mask, Oni Press, Legendary, Limerence Press and Boom! Studios.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Oni Press (October 2019)
  • Length: 136 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781620106570
  • Grades: 9 and up

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Sharp, snarky and slick, Visaggio gives us a clever rewind to an unfolding mystery set in the early 80s."

– Chuck Wendig, New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Aftermath

"Part Nancy Drew, part Stranger Things, part Sex Pistols, punk rock, MORNING IN AMERICA turns suburbia upside down with beautiful art and characters that jump off the page. The end of the world is here, and it's a damn good book."

– Bryan Hill (author of Postal)

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Magdalene Visaggio

More books from this illustrator: Claudia Aguirre