Something That May Shock and Discredit You

LIST PRICE $35.00
About The Book

From the writer of Slate’s “Dear Prudence” column and “literally the funniest person on the internet” (Rachel Fershleiser, co-editor of the New York Times bestseller Not Quite What I Was Planning) comes a witty and clever collection of essays and cultural observations spanning pop culture—from the endearingly popular to the staggeringly obscure.

Sometimes you just have to yell. For New York Times bestselling author of Texts From Jane Eyre Daniel Mallory Ortberg, he’s mastered the art of “poetic yelling,” a genre surely familiar to fans of his cult-favorite website The Toast.

In this irreverent essay collection, Ortberg expands on this concept with in-depth and hilarious studies of all things pop culture, from the high to low brow. From a thoughtful analysis on the beauty of William Shatner to a sinister reimagining of HGTV’s House Hunters, Something That May Shock and Discredit You is a laugh-out-loud funny and whip-smart collection that is perfect for fans of Chuck Klosterman and Patton Oswalt and for those who don’t take anything—including themselves—much too seriously.

About The Author

Daniel Mallory Ortberg is the “Dear Prudence” advice columnist at Slate, the cofounder of The Toast, and the author of the New York Times bestseller Texts From Jane Eyre, The Merry Spinster, and Something That May Shock and Discredit You.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Atria Books (January 2020)
  • Length: 256 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982105211

Browse Related Books