Skip to Main Content

The Secret Keepers

LIST PRICE $24.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER
See More Retailers

About The Book

From USA TODAY and internationally bestselling author Genevieve Graham comes a gripping World War II novel about two sisters who join the war effort, one as a codebreaker and the other as a pilot, and the secrets that threaten to tear them apart—perfect for fans of The Rose Code and The Nightingale.

Twin sisters Dot and Dash Wilson share many things: a birthday, a best friend named Gus, and a secret shorthand based on Morse code, a language their father, a WWI veteran, taught them as children. But that’s where their similarities end. While Dot’s nose is always in a book, preferably the latest by Agatha Christie, Dash is a social butterfly and spends her evenings out dancing. Despite their differences, the sisters have a close bond—until one develops romantic feelings for Gus.

When war breaks out, the three are scattered across the globe. Dot intercepts coded enemy messages at HMCS Coverdale, a covert intelligence station working with Bletchley Park in England. Before long, she is sent to Camp X, a top-secret spy school where she puts her codebreaking skills to use in hopes of changing the tides of war and saving those she loves. Overseas, Dash trains as a pilot with the Air Transport Auxiliary, risking her life to ferry aircraft and troops across the battlefields of Europe. Meanwhile, Gus is deployed to an unknown front.

Each one holds secrets that, before the war is through, will test their loyalty to their country—and to each other...

Inspired by the real-life stories of women in World War II, The Secret Keepers is an extraordinary novel about the unbreakable bonds of sisterhood and the light of courage during the darkest of nights.

About The Author

Photograph by Nicola Davison, Snickerdoodle Photography

Genevieve Graham is the USA TODAY and #1 bestselling author of eleven novels, including The Forgotten Home Child, which has been optioned for TV, Letters Across the Sea, and Bluebird. She is passionate about breathing life back into history through tales of love and adventure. She lives in Alberta. Visit her at GenevieveGraham.com or on Twitter and Instagram @GenGrahamAuthor.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (November 14, 2023)
  • Length: 384 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982196981

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for Bluebird

“From the battlefields of World War I to Prohibition-era Canada, Bluebird swept me away. Once again, Genevieve Graham writes brilliantly about how the past impacts the present. This meticulously researched page-turner will keep you reading into the night.”
— JANET SKESLIEN CHARLES, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Library

“Full of wartime heroics, rollicking rumrunners, and star-crossed lovers, Bluebird has it all. But most of all, it is full of compassion for the men and women who served in the first global conflict facing our world. No one writes Canadian historical fiction with more heart than Genevieve Graham, and this pure and ennobling tale is exactly what our own hearts need now.”
— NATALIE JENNER, internationally bestselling author of The Jane Austen Society

“From the battlefields of war-torn France to the speakeasies of Canada’s prohibition-flaunting towns, Bluebird weaves a compelling, emotional story of love, second chances, and sacrifice. Genevieve Graham is uniquely talented at bringing history to light with characters who stay with you long after the last page. Bluebird is why I never miss a new Genevieve Graham book!”
— JULIA KELLY, internationally bestselling author of The Last Garden in England

“Readers weary of European-centric World War II dramas will delight in Genevieve Graham’s Letters Across the Sea, which centers on the courage and tenacity of Canadian soldiers, veterans, and home-front fighters. A budding love affair between Irish aspiring-journalist Molly and Jewish medical student Max is derailed first by a shocking anti-Semitic riot, then by the winds of war which send Max to fight in the Pacific as Molly carves herself a niche as a reporter. A lost letter has the power to bring them back into each other’s lives, but at what cost? A tender, moving tale illuminating a fascinating lesser-known chapter of World War II history!”
— KATE QUINNNew York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code

“An epic tale of enduring love, loyalty and heroism, and a haunting portrayal of one of the most tragic yet overlooked battles of WWII, Letters Across the Sea has all the ingredients of a historical fiction masterpiece. Genevieve Graham has delivered once more a powerful, devastating, and ultimately redemptive story that stirs the heart in profound and lasting ways.”
— ROXANNE VELETZOS, internationally bestselling author of The Girl They Left Behind

“I always look forward to diving into a Genevieve Graham novel, because I know I’ll be swept away by her meticulous evocation of the past, her memorable and wonderfully observed characters, and her unmatchable flair for shining a light into the neglected corners of our shared past. In Letters Across the Sea, she sends us from 1930s Toronto, then under siege by a relentless plague of anti-Semitism, to a different battleground altogether: the last stand of Canadian troops at the Battle of Hong Kong. This is history worth remembering—and fiction that both enlightens and entertains.”
— JENNIFER ROBSON, internationally bestselling author of The Gown

“Graham further cements her status as one of the preeminent writers of Canadian twentieth-century historical fiction by illuminating a dark and complex chapter in the nation’s past in the decade leading up to World War II. With meticulous research and vivid prose and memorable characters, Graham demonstrates once more her unique ability to inspire, educate, and entertain.”
— PAM JENOFFNew York Times bestselling author of The Woman with the Blue Star

“A beautiful book that tells a little-known chapter of history with incredible humanity. From the neighbourhoods of Toronto to the battlefields of Hong Kong, Genevieve Graham weaves exquisite research, nail-biting tension, and rich characters into a sweeping novel of courage, betrayal, and reconciliation. I loved it!”
— JULIA KELLY, internationally bestselling author of The Light Over London

“A compelling story, meticulously researched and beautifully told—to the point that I was moved to tears on several occasions. Graham is a master storyteller with a gift to touch the heart. I’m so happy to have discovered her work.”
— SANTA MONTEFIORE, bestselling author of The Temptation of Gracie

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Genevieve Graham