Skip to Main Content

Babes in the Wood

The Witches of Woodville 2

LIST PRICE $13.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

'A young witch to rival Tiffany Aching. Magic!'FMA Dixon

'ACE. Smart and funny and written so warmly. It's an absolutely smashing read'Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World  ​ 

The Witches of Woodville Part 2

July, 1940

 
In a quiet village in rural Kent, a magical mystery leads to murder . . .

Woodville has returned to 'normal' after the departure of the Crow Folk. The villagers put out fires from aircraft shot down in the Battle of Britain, and Faye Bright discovers that magic can be just as dangerous as any weapon.

The arrival of a trio of Jewish children fleeing the Nazis brings the fight for Europe to the village. When their guardian is found dead, Faye must play nanny to the terrified children while gathering clues to uncover a dark magic that threatens to change the course of the war. And she must do it quickly – the children have seen too much and someone wants them silenced for good.

For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes the second novel in this delightful trilogy of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . .

Don't miss the other magical books in the WITCHES OF WOODVILLE series!
#1 The Crow Folk
#2 Babes in the Wood
#3 The Ghost of Ivy Barn 


Praise for The Witches of Woodville series

'Beautiful and engaging and clever and what more could you ask for in a book?'Manda Scott, bestselling author of A Treachery of Spies

'A young witch to rival Tiffany Aching. Magic!'FMA Dixon

'ACE. Smart and funny and written so warmly. It's an absolutely smashing read'Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World  ​ 

'Swept me straight back to days of losing myself in Diana Wynne Jones novels, and getting lost in truly absorbing, sometimes scary, sometimes emotive adventure with its roots in folklore and history. A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age'Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window

 'A delightful mash-up of Dad’s Army and Charmed. An absolute treat'CK McDonnell, author of Stranger Times

‘Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read’Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries
 
‘You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel GummidgeLorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village
 
‘A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad's Army meets Witches of EastwickIan W Sainsbury

About The Author

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (October 28, 2021)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471198007

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Mark Stay