Skip to Main Content

Spoiler Alert: The Hero Dies

A Memoir of Love, Loss, and Other Four-Letter Words

Listen To An Excerpt

0:00 /

About The Book

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Jim Parsons, this is a “heartbreaking but often surprisingly hilarious memoir” (People) about the lessons, love, and laughter of the fourteen years a respected TV columnist shared with his late husband before he succumbed to cancer. Perfect for fans of Bettyville and No Happy Endings.

For over a decade, TV fans have counted upon Michael Ausiello’s insider knowledge to get the scoop on their favorite shows and stars. From his time at Soaps In Depth and Entertainment Tonight to his influential stints at TV Guide and Entertainment Weekly to his current role as cofounder of the wildly popular website TVLine, Michael has established himself as the go-to expert when it comes to our most popular form of entertainment.

What many of his fans don’t know, however, is that while his professional life was in full swing, Michael had to endure the greatest of personal tragedies: his longtime boyfriend, Kit Cowan, was diagnosed with a rare and very aggressive form of neuroendocrine cancer. Over the course of eleven months, Kit and Michael did their best to combat the deadly disease, but Kit succumbed to his illness in 2015.

In this heartbreaking and darkly hilarious memoir, Michael tells the story of his harrowing and challenging last year with Kit while revisiting the thirteen years that preceded it, and how the undeniably powerful bond between him and Kit carried them through all manner of difficulties—always with laughter front and center in their relationship.

“Engrossing, poignant, tragic, and hilarious” (Jenny Lawson, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Spoiler Alert: The Hero Dies is “a story about love and loss, joy and heartbreak. And in the midst of personal turmoil, we learn that bravery comes in many forms” (The Washington Post).

About The Author

Photograph by Stephen Lovekin/Shutterstock

Michael Ausiello is the founder and editor-in-chief of TVLine, a television entertainment website owned by Penske Media that launched in 2010. Ausiello began his publishing career in 1997 at Soaps In Depth before moving on to TV Guide in 2000, where he debuted his signature, spoiler-tinged “Ask Ausiello” column and established himself as a major player in the world of TV journalism. In 2008, he jumped to Entertainment Weekly, where he penned a column in the magazine as well as an award-winning blog. He currently splits his time between New York City and Los Angeles.

About The Reader

Photograph by Stephen Lovekin/Shutterstock

Michael Ausiello is the founder and editor-in-chief of TVLine, a television entertainment website owned by Penske Media that launched in 2010. Ausiello began his publishing career in 1997 at Soaps In Depth before moving on to TV Guide in 2000, where he debuted his signature, spoiler-tinged “Ask Ausiello” column and established himself as a major player in the world of TV journalism. In 2008, he jumped to Entertainment Weekly, where he penned a column in the magazine as well as an award-winning blog. He currently splits his time between New York City and Los Angeles.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (September 12, 2017)
  • Runtime: 10 hours
  • ISBN13: 9781508249238

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images