Skip to Main Content

The Catwings Complete Collection (Boxed Set)

Catwings; Catwings Return; Wonderful Alexander and the Catwings; Jane on Her Own

Part of Catwings
Illustrated by S.D. Schindler
See More Retailers

About The Book

A litter of winged kittens flee the city and have charming adventures in legendary author Ursula K. Le Guin’s bestselling Catwings chapter book series—all four books now together in a hardcover boxed set with a new look!

Mrs. Jane Tabby can’t explain why her four kittens—Thelma, Roger, James, and Harriet—were born with wings. Whatever the reason, she’s grateful they can use their flying skills to soar away from the dangerous, busy city where they were born. But once the kittens escape, they learn that country life comes with its own difficulties—just as they learn that help and friendship can be found in even the most unlikely places.

Ursula K. Le Guin’s classic series follows the winged feline siblings across four big adventures: finding a new home in the country, returning to the city to visit their mother, befriending a wonderful orange cat, and following the youngest sibling’s foray into the world on her own.

This whimsical hardcover boxed set includes:
Catwings Return
Wonderful Alexander and the Catwings
Jane on Her Own

About The Author

Photo Credit:

Ursula K. Le Guin (1929–2018) was the celebrated author of twenty-three novels, twelve volumes of short stories, eleven volumes of poetry, thirteen children’s books, five essay collections, and four works of translation. Her acclaimed books received the Hugo, Nebula, Endeavor, Locus, Otherwise, Theodore Sturgeon, PEN/Malamud, and National Book Awards; a Newbery Honor; and the Pushcart and Janet Heidinger Kafka Prizes, among others. In 2014, she was awarded the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, and in 2016 joined the short list of authors to be published in their lifetimes by the Library of America. Le Guin was also the recipient of the Association for Library Service to Children’s May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award and the Margaret A. Edwards Award. She received lifetime achievement awards from the World Fantasy Convention, Los Angeles Times, Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association, and Willamette Writers, as well as the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America Grand Master Award and the Library of Congress Living Legend Award. Her website is

About The Illustrator

Photo Credit:

S. D. Schindler is the popular and versatile illustrator of many books for children, including Ursula K. Le Guin’s Catwings series; Skeleton Hiccups and Monster Mess!, both by Margery Cuyler; Big Pumpkin and the ALA Notable Children’s Book Don’t Fidget a Feather!, both by Erica Silverman; How Santa Got His Job by Stephen Krensky; and Johnny Appleseed by Rosemary and Stephen Vincent Benét. He lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. His website is

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers (October 24, 2023)
  • Length: 208 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665940696
  • Ages: 5 - 9

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Ursula K. Le Guin

More books from this illustrator: S.D. Schindler

More books in this series: Catwings