Skip to Main Content

About The Book

An epic fantasy series—now available as one volume—that follows three women of legendary skill on a quest to save the world’s most powerful wizard and the innkeeper’s assistant whose heartbreak will bear witness from the author of the bestselling The Last Unicorn.

On a night like any other, three mysterious women arrive to an inn separately, one with a fox that is more than it seems. Karsh, the innkeeper, has no choice but to let the tangled drama unfold beneath his roof. His stable boy, Rosseth, is so mesmerized by the three cloaked women, a warrior nun, a fabled adventurer, and a girl who was saved from drowning, that he soon uncovers a deep secret that was better off remaining hidden. And then there is Tikat, overwhelmed by tragedy, who continues his journey to the inn, refusing to let death bring an end his love.

Told in alternating points of view, fantasy master Peter S. Beagle has crafted an unforgettable novel of heartbreak and hope.

About The Author

Photograph by Kathleen Hunt

Peter Beagle, noted author and screenwriter, is a recipient of the prestigious Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and Mythopoeic Awards, and a World Fantasy and Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America 2018 Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master, among other literary achievements. He has given generations of readers the magic of unicorns, haunted cemeteries, lascivious trees, and disgruntled gods. A beloved author, his best-known work is The Last Unicorn.

Product Details

  • Publisher: S&S/Saga Press (March 11, 2025)
  • Length: 384 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781668025444

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Peter S. Beagle