Skip to Main Content

The Louisa May Alcott Hidden Gems Collection (Boxed Set)

Eight Cousins; Rose in Bloom; An Old-Fashioned Girl; Under the Lilacs; Jack and Jill

LIST PRICE $119.99

See More Retailers

About The Book

While most famous for Little Women, Louisa May Alcott penned many other just as enthralling but lesser-known novels. Discover five of her hidden gems featuring Alcott’s signature coming-of-age stories in this collectible hardcover boxed set!

In An Old-Fashioned Girl, sweet and sensible Polly spends her summers with her friend Fanny’s family, during which she is thrust into a wealthy and fashionable society that seems a world away from her own simple upbringing. As she grows up, she’ll have to learn to stay true to herself through the pressures of status and reputation, all while navigating love and friendship.

Meet Rose in Eight Cousins and its sequel, Rose in Bloom, as the orphaned thirteen-year-old moves to live with her uncle in the same town as her seven rowdy, male cousins. Blossoming from a timid child into a confident woman, Rose faces finding purpose and love as a young heiress encountering an array of suitors.

Twelve-year-old Ben Brown runs away from the circus with his best dog-friend Sancho in Under the Lilacs to seek out his missing father. While searching, Ben comes into the employ of Miss Celia, who also cares for him and lets him live in her house until he receives word of his father’s whereabouts. Though Ben finds himself happier with this new life, the lack of adventure that came with circus living leaves him unsure whether it’s the life for him.

In Jack and Jill, best friends Jack and Janey—nicknamed Jill—go sledding and make an unexpected turn onto a dangerous path, leading to their fall off a hill. The accident leaves the two seriously injured and bedridden for several months. As the pair recovers, their mothers and friends help them combat boredom through a series of creative activities. Jack and Jill’s friendships grow stronger over the next year, learning life lessons and confronting important social issues of the time.

This classic and charming hardcover boxed set contains:
An Old-Fashioned Girl
Eight Cousins
Rose in Bloom

Under the Lilacs
Jack and Jill

About The Author

Louisa May Alcott was born in 1832 in Germantown, Pennsylvania. She is best known for Little Women (1868), which is loosely based on her own life and proved to be one of the most popular children’s books ever written. Three sequels followed: Good Wives (1869), Little Men (1871), and Jo’s Boys (1886). Alcott was the daughter of the famous transcendentalist Bronson Alcott and was friend of Emerson and Thoreau. In addition to writing, she worked as a teacher, governess, and Civil War nurse, as well as being an advocate of abolition, women’s rights, and temperance. She died in 1888 and is buried in Sleepy Hollow cemetery in Concord, Massachusetts.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Aladdin (August 15, 2023)
  • Length: 1696 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665926317
  • Ages: 8 - 99

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Louisa May Alcott

More books in this series: The Louisa May Alcott Hidden Gems Collection