Skip to Main Content

The Voice Upstairs

See More Retailers

About The Book

In 1920s England, a working-class girl who can see spirits works with a lord’s son to solve mysterious deaths at the local manor home in this eerie historical mystery perfect for fans of The Haunting of Bly Manor and Downton Abbey.

Wilhelmina Price has a dubious reputation in the village of Thrush’s Green. Ever since her mother’s untimely death, she has been able to see a person’s spirit leaving their body days or hours before they die. Wil has never been able to prevent these deaths, so her unusual skill has made her an outsider to most except her lifelong friend, Edison, the youngest son of Lord Summerfield. But when a maid at the Summerfield’s estate dies in the same mysterious way as Wil’s own mother, Wil takes on a housemaid’s position to investigate whether these women might, in fact, have been murdered.

There is nothing Ed Summerfield values more than his friendship with Wil, which is why he’s desperate to disguise how hopelessly in love with her he’s become—and his belief that he may be haunted by the ghost of his older brother, Peter. Because if Wil, with her supernatural powers, can’t see the same evidence of hauntings that Ed does, he worries he may actually be losing his mind.

Together, Wil and Ed must dig deeper into the Summerfields’ hoard of secrets, though the truth won’t give itself up without a fight that could prove deadly to the both of them, as they face cunning adversaries among the living and the dead.

About The Author

Laura E. Weymouth

Laura E. Weymouth is the author of several novels, including the critically acclaimed The Light Between WorldsA Treason of ThornsA Rush of Wings, and A Consuming Fire. Born and raised in the Niagara region of Ontario, Laura now lives at the edge of the woods in western New York with her husband, two wild-hearted daughters, and an ever-expanding menagerie of animal friends. Learn more at LauraEWeymouth.com.

Why We Love It

“A ghostly murder mystery complete with some genuinely spooky twists and turns that kept me reading at the edge of my seat, the real heart of this book is the tender relationship that develops between Wil and Ed, who must lean on each other as they uncover dark secrets that will change their lives forever. It’s a perfect balance of soft, clever, and lovable characters surrounded by grim, paranormal chaos.”

—Nicole F., Editor, on The Voice Upstairs

Product Details

  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books (October 3, 2023)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665926836
  • Ages: 14 - 99

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"A twisty murder mystery told with Laura Weymouth’s signature poetic prose, The Voice Upstairs is a must for fantasy readers, and anyone who loves their stories cozy and spooky in equal measure."

– Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf and For the Throne

"This is the kind of book that keeps whispering in your ear long after you've set it down. Haunting from start to finish."

– Scott Reintgen, bestselling author of A Door in the Dark

"Compellingly drawn characters, immersive writing, and as many narrative surprises as there are secret corners of Wither Grange. What a comfort to pick up a Weymouth novel, always knowing it will be wonderful."

– Anna Bright, author of The Beholder and The Boundless

"The Voice Upstairs is a compelling and haunting story that more than delivers on its delicious premise of “Downton Abbey with Ghosts”. The upstairs/downstairs dynamics were masterfully done, and I was incredibly invested in Edison and Wil’s romance. Grim yet hopeful, fierce but quiet, The Voice Upstairs brims with vivid imagery, sharply-drawn characters, and a fascinating plot that will keep you turning pages through every horrific reveal to the immensely satisfying conclusion. Don’t miss Weymouth’s latest triumph."

– Joanna Ruth Meyer, author of Echo North and Into the Heartless Wood

"A wealthy family in decline must reckon with the girl who can sense their hauntings both literal and figurative. Set against the backdrop of postwar Britain and the turbulent upheaval of the social classes, The Voice Upstairs is a chilling look at power, family, and one girl's quest to find the truth."

– Harry Szabo, author of What Big Teeth

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Laura E. Weymouth