Analee, in Real Life

LIST PRICE $11.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

“Milanes has created authentic characters with family issues that reflect the world we live in...Refreshing.” —The New York Times Book Review
“Heartfelt and smart.” —Lilliam Rivera, author of The Education of Margot Sanchez
“Funny and affecting, well-balanced, and simply fun.” —Kirkus Reviews
“An entertaining novel for all teen collections.” —School Library Journal


A Cuban-American teen navigates social anxiety, her father’s remarriage, and being torn between two very cute boys in this “genuine and humorous” (Booklist) contemporary novel—perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Kasie West.

Ever since her mom died three years ago, Analee Echevarria has had trouble saying out loud the weird thoughts that sit in her head. With a best friend who hates her and a dad who’s marrying a yogi she can’t stand, Analee spends most of her time avoiding reality and role-playing as Kiri, the night elf hunter at the center of her favorite online game.

Through Kiri, Analee is able to express everything real-life Analee cannot: her bravery, her strength, her inner warrior. The one thing both Kiri and Analee can’t do, though, is work up the nerve to confess her romantic feelings for Kiri’s partner-in-crime, Xolkar—a.k.a. a teen boy named Harris whom Analee has never actually met in person.

So when high school heartthrob Seb Matias asks Analee to pose as his girlfriend in an attempt to make his ex jealous, Analee agrees. Sure, Seb seems kind of obnoxious, but Analee could use some practice connecting with people in real life. In fact, it’d maybe even help her with Harris.

But the more Seb tries to coax Analee out of her comfort zone, the more she starts to wonder if her anxious, invisible self is even ready for the real world. Can Analee figure it all out without losing herself in the process?

About The Author

Alex Plasencia

Janelle Milanes is the author of The Victoria in My Head and Analee, in Real Life. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their two cats. Her favorite Disney princess is Belle, since she was also a big book nerd.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon Pulse (September 18, 2018)
  • Length: 416 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781534410312
  • Grades: 7 and up
  • Ages: 12 - 99
  • Lexile ® HL660L

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Janelle Milanes has a rare gift for capturing the tenuous thread of friendships. Heartfelt and smart, you will root for and fall in love with Analee, in Real Life.” —Lilliam Rivera, author of The Education of Margot Sanchez

“Funny and affecting, well-balanced, and simply fun.” —Kirkus Reviews

“An entertaining novel for all teen collections.” —School Library Journal

“Genuine and humorous.” —Booklist

Awards and Honors

  • NYPL Best Books for Teens

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Janelle Milanes