Captive

A Mother's Crusade to Save Her Daughter from the Terrifying Cult Nxivm

LIST PRICE $22.99
About The Book

Now updated with a new afterword, Captive is an emotional, ripped-from-the-headlines exposé that lays bare the secretive cult that shocked the world—for fans of Leah Remini’s Troublemaker and Lawrence Wright’s Going Clear.

I am a mother whose child is being abused and exploited. And I am not alone.

In 2011, former Dynasty star Catherine Oxenberg joined her daughter, India, at a leadership seminar for a new organization called NXIVM. Her then twenty-year-old daughter was on the threshold of starting her own professional life and they both thought this program might help her achieve her dream. But quickly, Catherine saw a sinister side to the program that claimed to simply want to help its clients become the best versions of themselves.

Catherine watched in horror as her daughter fell further and further down the rabbit hole, falling under the spell of NXIVM's hypnotic leader, Keith Raniere. Despite Catherine’s best efforts, India was drawn deeper into the cult, eventually joining an elite “sorority” of women members who were ordered to maintain a restricted diet, recruit other women as “slaves,” and were branded with their leader’s initials.

In Captive, Catherine shares every parent’s worst nightmare, and the lengths that a mother will go to save her child. Catherine’s efforts finally led the FBI to take notice—and the journey is not yet over. A powerful depiction of a mother’s love and determination, and with horrifying insider details never revealed in any news story, Captive will keep you reading until the very last page.

About The Author

Catherine Oxenberg is best known for her role as Amanda Carrington on the hit primetime soap opera Dynasty. She got her start as a model before making her acting debut in The Royal Romance of Charles and Diana. Oxenberg is the daughter of Princess Elizabeth of Yugoslavia, making her a royal descendent in her own right. She currently lives in Malibu, California.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Gallery Books (July 2019)
  • Length: 416 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982100667

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images