Skip to Main Content

Do Let's Have Another Drink!

The Dry Wit and Fizzy Life of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother

Listen To An Excerpt

0:00 /

About The Book

For fans of The Crown and Ninety-Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret, a deliciously entertaining collection of 101 fascinating and funny anecdotes about Queen Elizabeth, the Queen Mother—one for each year of her life.

During her lifetime, the Queen Mother was as famous for her clever quips, pointed observations, and dry-as-a-martini delivery style as she was for being a beloved royal. Now, Do Let’s Have Another Drink recounts 101 (one for each year of her remarkable life) amusing and astonishing vignettes from across her long life, including her coming of age during World War I, the abdication of her brother-in-law and her unexpected ascendance to the throne, and her half century of widowhood as her daughter reigned over the United Kingdom. Featuring new revelations and colorful anecdotes about the woman Cecil Beaton, the high society photographer, once summarized as “a marshmallow made on a welding machine,” Do Let’s Have Another Drink is a delightful celebration of one of the most consistently popular members of the royal family.

About The Author

Photograph by Iona Wolff

Educated at Oxford University and Queen’s University, Belfast, Gareth Russell is a historian, novelist, and playwright. He is the author of nine books, including The PalaceThe Ship of DreamsYoung and Damned and FairThe Emperors, and Do Let’s Have Another Drink. He lives in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

About The Reader

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (November 1, 2022)
  • Runtime: 7 hours and 7 minutes
  • ISBN13: 9781797154565

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Gareth Russell