Owl and the City of Angels

(Book #2 of The Owl Series)
LIST PRICE $22.00

About The Book

The wild second adventure for unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world—from the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish. For fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and the like. The series also includes Owl and the Japanese Circus and Owl and the Electric Samurai.

Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl, international antiquities thief for hire, is settling into her new contract job for Vegas mogul Mr. Kurosawa, a red dragon with a penchant for ancient, supernatural artifacts. And now he has his sights set on some treasures of the mysterious Syrian City of the Dead that are sitting in a recluse’s private collection.

There’s just one wrinkle. To stop the resurrection of an undead army that could wreak havoc on Los Angeles, Owl must break into a heavily guarded archaeological sight in one of the most volatile regions in the world. A detour through Libya and a run-in with Somali pirates sends the clock ticking hastily toward total paranormal disaster.

Meanwhile, Alexander and the Paris vampires have stopped stalking Owl’s apartment, but they have by no means forgotten their death grudge against her. To top everything off, Owl finds out the hard way that there is nothing heavenly about the City of Angels...

About The Author

Kristi Charish is a scientist and science fiction/fantasy writer who resides in Vancouver, British Columbia, with her spousal unit, Steve, and two cats named Captain Flash and Alaska. She received her BSc and MSc from Simon Fraser University in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, and her PhD in Zoology from the University of British Columbia. Kristi writes what she loves: adventure heavy stories featuring strong, savvy female protagonists. Visit her at KristiCharish.com or follow her on Twitter @KristiCharish.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (March 2016)
  • Length: 432 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781501122101

Raves and Reviews

A great new fantasy series of fans of Indiana Jones and Buffy the Vampire Slayer...Here's to hoping this will be the first of many outings for Owl.

– Library Journal, starred review, on Owl and the Japanese Circus

Adventure! Drama! Japanese radish demons! Dr. Kristi Charish in my zombie series is an evil bitch who conducts horrible experiments. But the real Kristi Charish is awesome and her debut novel releases tomorrow! And it's fantastic! Owl and the Japanese Circus! Go buy!

– Diana Rowland, author of My Life as a White Trash Zombie

Antiquities thief Owl is snarky, funny, and geeky—in the absolute best way possible. Her globe-trotting escapades are brimming with unique supernatural foes and comic-book cool. Urban fantasy fans will cheer Owl on to the thrilling conclusion and eagerly anticipate the next adventure. Go Owl!

– Jenn Bennett, author of Kindling the Moon and the Arcadia Bell series

Fast-paced, humorous, action-filled, and completely original.

– Ian Hamilton, author of the Ava Lee novels

Rich, stylish, and uber-geeky. A thrill-ride to the darkly glittering crossroads of myth and archeology.

– Phoebe Kitanidis

...a swashbuckling affair...Alix – Owl – ain’t your parent’s Indiana Jones; she’s a tech savvy, gadget friendly, plain speaking, cat loving, Corona drinking, hardcore gamer gal... this definitely is a good time–and a wild ride.

– LitStack

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Kristi Charish

More books in this series: The Owl Series