Skip to Main Content

Seeds

Published by Rising Action
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

For fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker, a debut fantasy novel set in Mycenaean Greece that explores the myth of Persephone through the lens of mother-daughter dynamics.

Kore has lived her entire life under her resentful mother Demeter’s shadow, trying her hardest to please a woman grown bitter by betrayal. With her self-esteem in tatters and deliberately isolated by her mother, it’s no surprise that Kore is flummoxed when she meets a collection of otherworldly women – the Goddesses of Olympus – who tell her that her mother is in truth a Goddess herself. Kore tells them her preferred name, Persephone, and hopes they will not only have answers for her new questions, but the friendship and love she craves. Instead, an imposing and stoic figure emerges from a nearby cave on a magical chariot and snatches Persephone away.

Upon realizing she has been taken to the Underworld by Hades, who desires she become his queen, Persephone vows to escape.

Demeter, enraged upon finding her daughter taken, goes to extreme lengths to reclaim her – putting the lives of all humanity, and even the gods, at risk.

Angie Paxton breathes new life into a myth that has been reshaped, adapted, and loved since Homer's Hymn to Demeter. Seeds is a deeply romantic story of two lonely souls finding one another, the pressure put on children to forgive their parents’ abuse, and the power of resentment.

Content Warnings: References to child abuse, animal death, starvation, forcible confinement

About The Author

Angie Paxton is an American author who writes books that explore complex female family relationships in dark, atmospheric settings. She's a part of the North Idaho Writers' League. Angie is a stay-at-home mom who enjoys reading and research. She'll occasionally emerge from her books to run, hike or boat in beautiful Hayden, Idaho where she lives with her husband, four kids and three spoiled cats. Seeds is Angie's debut novel.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Rising Action (January 7, 2025)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781998076918

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images