Skip to Main Content

The Lost Chapter

A Novel

LIST PRICE $13.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

A timeless tale of female friendship and past secrets, set in modern-day small-town England and a 1950s finishing school in France—for readers of Joanna Goodman and Santa Montefiore.

England, present day.

At eighty years old, Florence Carter is content with her life. A widow in her twilight years, she spends her days making intricate lino prints in the company of her dog and cat, and her neighbour’s daughter Alice, a shy young woman troubled by a recent trauma. But when ​Flo learns that a long-lost friend has written a novel based on their time at finishing school, she’s forced to confront a secret from her past...

France, 1957.

In post-war Lyon, Florence and Lilli meet at a strict finishing school for girls. Florence—or Flo as she’s known—is a demure young Englishwoman who is expected to enter society and make a good marriage. Lilli, meanwhile, is a brash American with an independent spirit and thirst for adventure. Despite their differences, they forge a firm friendship that promises to last a lifetime—until a terrible betrayal tears them apart.

Now, as Flo reads Lilli’s book, she struggles to separate fact from fiction. Desperate for answers, she decides to take a road trip to France to find Lilli, and she invites Alice and her mother Carla to join her, in hopes the change of scenery will lift their spirits. But when they reach Lyon, it’s Flo who needs help as the buried truth from long ago threatens to overwhelm her.

The Lost Chapter is a poignant novel about the power of friendship and a beautiful reminder that it’s never too late to start writing a different story.

About The Author

Photo courtesy of author

Caroline Bishop is a journalist, an editor, and the author of two novels, The Other Daughter and The Lost Chapter. For the past fifteen years, she has written about travel, food, and theatre for many publications, including The GuardianThe TelegraphThe Independent, and BBC Travel. A British-Canadian, she currently lives in Switzerland. Visit her at CarolineBishop.co.uk or connect with her on Twitter @CalBish.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (May 3, 2022)
  • Length: 416 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982196929

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“A heartwarming, beautifully crafted story about friendship and forgiveness, and the importance of believing in one’s self even when it feels impossible. A poignant reminder that it is never too late to make things right with those you love, and with yourself.”
— GENEVIEVE GRAHAM, USA TODAY and #1 bestselling author of Letters Across the Sea

“A delightful novel with true friendship at its heart and characters [who] all confront demons of their own and learn that happiness is within their grasp. Like one of Flo’s intricate prints, this book reveals itself slowly to create a perfect picture of friendship that readers will love.”
— JULIA KELLY, internationally bestselling author of The Last Dance of the Debutante

“A heartwarming story of selfless friendship and of women who dare to pursue the road less travelled. Dappled with a touch of mystery and cheeky humour, The Lost Chapter inspires us to push the boundaries of our own comfort zones.”
— HEATHER MARSHALL, author of Looking for Jane

“Beautifully drawn characters and a story so intriguing it kept me one-more-chaptering till late into the night.”
— FRANCES QUINN, author of The Smallest Man

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images