The Vanishing

LIST PRICE $22.99

About The Book

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Silversmith’s Wife comes an “undeniably page-turning (Daily Mail) novel: “Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but ten times darker…as eerie and gothic as the Yorkshire Moors it is set on” (Stylist).

On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester.

When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodging seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape…

Stunning and vividly atmospheric, The Vanishing is thrilling historical fiction for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

About The Author

Julia Skupny

Sophia Tobin is Library Secretary for the Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths’. She previously worked for a Bond Street antique dealer for six years, specialising in silver and jewellery. Inspired by research she made into a real life eighteenth-century silversmith, Tobin began to write her first novel, The Silversmith's Wife, which was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize, judged by Sophie Hannah.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (June 2018)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471151620

Raves and Reviews

‘The plot twists with admirable zest… Entertaining’ 

– The Times

‘Layer upon layer of increasingly fevered intrigue, and just when you think you can guess where this story is going, it takes a turn for the unexpected… undeniably page-turning

– Mail on Sunday

Atmosphere aplenty and some real surprises’ 

– Daily Mail

‘Tobin writes with brio and the narrative carries the reader briskly along. The plotting is skilful, with a network of lies being woven so that no one, characters or readers, can be sure of the truth’ 

– Daily Express

Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but 10 times darker, and you have The Vanishing…One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night’

– Stylist

‘A thrilling atmospheric page-turner in which madness threatens to unhinge the protagonists’ 

– Metro

'There is a Jane Eyre feel to The Vanishing by Sophia Tobin'

– Good Housekeeping

‘Tobin, an antiques specialist-turned-novelist, has created a vivid sense of the period she is writing about, which stays with the reader long after the final page’ 

– the i

‘An atmospheric historical novel that echoes Wuthering Heights with its Yorkshire Moors setting and sense of intrigue'

– RED

'The Vanishing is a pitch perfect evocation of a classic nineteenth century Gothic novel which confirms Sophia Tobin as a writer of the highest calibre'

– William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier

'I found it so compelling that I couldn’t wait to go back to it and really wanted to read it curled up on the sofa by a roaring fire on a dark and stormy night. Definitely reminiscent of the Brontës – a cross between Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights

– Susan Elliot Wright

‘It compels the reader with the poignancy and drama so loved in the novels of Wilkie Collins. The beauty of the writing sings throughout. A splendid and accomplished literary page turner’ 

– Kate Mayfield

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Sophia Tobin