Skip to Main Content

William Shakespeare × Rose Wylie: The Tempest

By (artist) Rose Wylie / Introduction by Katie Kitamura
Published by David Zwirner Books
Distributed by Simon & Schuster


See More Retailers

About The Book

Set on a remote island, Shakespeare’s The Tempest is an ideal subject for the artist Rose Wylie, whose work frequently references classic stories and well-known characters.

Likely the last play written entirely by Shakespeare, The Tempest brings together various themes the Bard explored in his prior plays, including magic, revenge and forgiveness, order and society, and nature versus art. The shipwreck and remote island, the spirits, and the dukes and their children offer rich material for Wylie’s works on paper and canvas.

As the third title in David Zwirner Books’s Seeing Shakespeare series, this book pairs a complex narrative with equally layered works by a contemporary artist who approaches the play and art making from a unique perspective. Also included is an introduction by the writer Katie Kitamura.

About The Author

Product Details

  • Publisher: David Zwirner Books (June 7, 2022)
  • Length: 144 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781644230619

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“She developed her own visual language by 'unlearning.' It is a result of strongly observing the subject and interpreting it in her own way."

– Kwon Mee-Yoo, The Korea Times

“Wylie fearlessly tackles the thorniest topics head-on, committing her thoughts and questions about politics, religion, fame, love, history, money and nature to canvas.”

– Charlotte Brook, Harper’s Bazaar

“The ordinary is important to Wylie: she can get her inspiration anywhere.”

– Louis Wise, The Sunday Times

“Wylie paints freewheeling pictures, often with words loosely scrawled across them, that are gloriously big and crude, and full of a certain dry British humor that sends up any whiff of orthodoxy or pretension.”

– The New York Times Style Magazine

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: William Shakespeare

More books in this series: Seeing Shakespeare