Skip to Main Content

MEMOIR & BIOGRAPHY

Surviving the White Gaze

A Memoir

A stirring and powerful memoir from black cultural critic Rebecca Carroll recounting her painful struggle to overcome a completely white childhood in order to forge her identity as a black woman in America.

Trade Paperback

LIST PRICE $23.00

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Ida B. the Queen

The Extraordinary Life and Legacy of Ida B. Wells

Journalist. Suffragist. Antilynching crusader. In 1862, Ida B. Wells was born enslaved in Holly Springs, Mississippi. In 2020, she won a Pulitzer Prize.

Paper Over Board

LIST PRICE $36.00

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

HISTORY

The Rope

A True Story of Murder, Heroism, and the Dawn of Civil Rights

From New York Times bestselling author Alex Tresniowski comes a page-turning, remarkable true-crime thriller recounting the 1910 murder of ten-year-old Marie Smith, the dawn of modern criminal detection and the launch of the NAACP.

Trade Paperback

LIST PRICE $23.00

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

CELEBRITY MEMOIR

Survival of the Thickest

Essays

From the stand-up comedian, actress, and host beloved for her cheeky swagger, unique voice, and unapologetic frankness comes a book of comedic essays for fans of Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Kaling and We’re Going to Need More Wine by Gabrielle Union.

Hardcover

LIST PRICE $36.00

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

FICTION

Yellow Wife

A Novel

Called "wholly engrossing" by New York Times bestselling author Kathleen Grissom, this harrowing story follows an enslaved woman forced to barter love and freedom while living in the most infamous slave jail in Virginia.

Hardcover

LIST PRICE $35.00

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Life After Death

A Novel

The long-anticipated sequel to Sister Souljah’s million copy bestseller The Coldest Winter Ever. A heart warming, heart burning, passionate, sexual, comical, and completely original adventure is about to happen in real time—raw, shocking, soulful, and shameless. True fans won’t let Winter travel alone on this amazing journey.

Hardcover

LIST PRICE $32.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

TEEN & KIDS

Wings of Ebony

In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry and must save both the human and god worlds. Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi Adeyemi, and The Hunger Games!

Hardcover

LIST PRICE $24.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Facing the Sun

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants meets The Education of Margot Sanchez in this Caribbean-set story about four friends who experience unexpected changes in their lives during the summer when a hotel developer purchases their community’s beloved beach.

Hardcover

LIST PRICE $23.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER