Skip to Main Content
 
Celebrate Black History Month
From award-winning fiction to poignant memoirs to stories for all ages, join us in celebrating and honoring Black voices, both past and present that have shaped our culture.
 

FICTION

Let Us Descend

A Novel

OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK • Instant New York Times Bestseller • Shortlisted for the 2024 Carnegie Medal for Excellence

From Jesmyn Ward—the two-time National Book Award winner, youngest winner of the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction, and MacArthur Fellow—comes a haunting masterpiece, sure to be an instant classic, about an enslaved girl in the years before the Civil War.


The Most Secret Memory of Men

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2023 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD

A masterful coming-of-age novel and a gripping investigation into the life of a mysterious author who disappeared without a trace, by the first writer from sub-Saharan Africa to be awarded France’s prestigious Prix Goncourt.

Trade Paperback

LIST PRICE $24.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Now streaming...

The Other Black Girl

A Novel

Now Streaming on Disney+

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Urgent, propulsive, and sharp as a knife, The Other Black Girl is an electric debut about the tension that unfurls when two young Black women meet against the starkly white backdrop of New York City book publishing.

Trade Paperback

LIST PRICE $24.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Coming this summer...

Swift River

A tender and irreverently funny debut novel about the complicated bond between mothers and daughters, the disappearance of a father, and the long-hidden history of a declining New England mill town.


Blackheart Man

The magical island of Chynchin is facing conquerors from abroad and something sinister from within in this entrancing fantasy from the Grand Master Award–winning author Nalo Hopkinson.


MEMOIR & BIOGRAPHY

How to Say Babylon

A Memoir

A New York Times Notable Book
A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!
A Best Book of 2023 by the New York Times, Time, The Washington Post, Vulture, Shelf Awareness, Goodreads, Esquire, The Atlantic, NPR, and Barack Obama

With echoes of Educated and Born a Crime, How to Say Babylon is the stunning story of the author’s struggle to break free of her rigid Rastafarian upbringing, ruled by her father’s strict patriarchal views and repressive control of her childhood, to find her own voice as a woman and poet.


Nothing Is Missing

A Memoir of Living Boldly

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A profound and gripping memoir by Nicole Walters, the daughter of Ghanaian immigrants who became a self-made multi-millionaire by showing others how to recognize their own strengths—and her own harrowing journey to the discovery that she was worthy all along of the life of her dreams.


The Long Road Home

On Blackness and Belonging

From a leading scholar on the politics of race comes a work of family history, memoir, and insight gained from a unique journey across the continent, on what it is to be Black in North America.

Trade Paperback

LIST PRICE $24.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

HISTORY

Master Slave Husband Wife

An Epic Journey from Slavery to Freedom

One of The New York Times’s 10 Best Books of 2023
New York Times Bestseller

Named a best book of 2023 by The New Yorker, Time, NPR, Smithsonian Magazine, Boston, Chicago Public Library, Oprah Daily, and People

The remarkable true story of Ellen and William Craft, who escaped slavery through daring, determination, and disguise, with Ellen passing as a wealthy, disabled White man and William posing as “his” slave.


Black Ghost of Empire

The Long Death of Slavery and the Failure of Emancipation

The 1619 Project illuminated the ways in which every aspect of life in the United States was and is shaped by the existence of slavery. Black Ghost of Empire focuses on emancipation and how this opportunity to make right further codified the racial caste system—instead of obliterating it.


Wake

The Hidden History of Women-Led Slave Revolts

Illustrated by Hugo Martínez

Part graphic novel, part memoir, Wake is an imaginative tour de force that tells the “powerful” (The New York Times Book Review) story of women-led slave revolts and chronicles scholar Rebecca Hall’s efforts to uncover the truth about these women warriors who, until now, have been left out of the historical record.

Trade Paperback

LIST PRICE $26.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

TEEN & KIDS

Tender Beasts

After her private school is rocked by a gruesome murder, a teen tries to find the real killer and clear her brother’s name in this psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Taking of Jake Livingston and Ace of Spades.


Fighting with Love

The Legacy of John Lewis

The “informative, resounding” (Booklist, starred review), and “inspiring” (The Horn Book, starred review) story of a groundbreaking civil rights leader John Lewis comes to life in this compelling and beautifully told nonfiction picture book by the award-winning team Lesa Cline-Ransome and James E. Ransome.


Coming Soon...

Where Was Goodbye?

A teen girl searches for closure after her brother dies by suicide in this breathtaking novel from the author of Learning to Breathe and Facing the Sun.