Skip to Main Content

The Howling Mountain

Illustrated by David Wyatt

About The Book

'A magical, fairy-filled read with a twisty plot and main character you'll adore' A.F. Steadman, author of the internationally bestselling Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

Looming ahead of them, black against the darkening sky, was the rocky bulk of a mountain . . . brave the perilous heights and fulfill the prophecy. Will you climb the Howling Mountain?

Hazel and Portunia have discovered that the plan to steal magic, involving an alliance between the Fae and the humans, is bigger than they could have ever imagined - and every day more and more children are disappearing.

To save Goblyn Wood, Hazel must climb to the Howling Mountain and retrieve the fabled Fairy Axe. She will be tested again and again on her journey. Can she fulfill the prophecy of the slipskin before the magic of Goblyn Wood is gone forever?

The spectacular conclusion to this imaginative fantasy world by Waterstones prize-shortlisted author Anna Kemp perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Podkin One-Ear!

Praise for Into Goblyn Wood:


'A fabulously rich adventure into a magical landscape, with that most important theme of all: believing in ourselves and the potential we hold.' Sarah Lean, author of the bestselling The Last Bear
'An absolutely sparkling adventure. The perfect book to curl up with as we're stepping into autumn' Alex Foulkes, author of Rules for Vampires
'A beautiful story, beautifully told. Into Goblyn Wood gives readers a wonderful world to lose themselves inside, and to keep daydreaming about for a long time afterwards!' Sylvia Bishop, author of The Bookshop Girl
'Anna Kemp’s world building is sublime . . . It’s unpredictable, perfectly paced and totally gripping... This is a truly brilliant book - fantasy at its finest. I could not put it down and cannot wait to read the next book in the series' Netgalley reviewer

About The Author

Photo courtesy of the author

Anna Kemp writes both picture books and middle grade fiction. Her books have been nominated for the Booktrust Early Years Award, the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize, Oscar’s Book Prize, and the Dundee Picture Book Award. Her work has also been adapted for television, puppetry, dance, orchestra, and theatre. Anna loves to visit schools and libraries and attend festivals. Visit her online at AnnaKemp-Author.com.

About The Illustrator

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK (April 24, 2025)
  • Length: 368 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781398503953
  • Ages: 9 - 99

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Anna Kemp

More books from this illustrator: David Wyatt

More books in this series: A Goblyn Wood Adventure