Skip to Main Content

To Marry and to Meddle

A Novel

Listen To An Excerpt

0:00 /

About The Book

“Sure to delight Bridgerton fans.” —USA TODAY

The “sweet, sexy, and utterly fun” (Emily Henry, author of People We Meet on Vacation) Regency Vows series continues with a witty, charming, and joyful novel following a seasoned debutante and a rakish theater owner as they navigate a complicated marriage of convenience.

Lady Emily Turner has been a debutante for six seasons now and should have long settled into a suitable marriage. However, due to her father’s large debts, her only suitor is the persistent and odious owner of her father’s favorite gambling house. Meanwhile, Lord Julian Belfry, the second son of a marquess, has scandalized society as an actor and owner of a theater—the kind of establishment where men take their mistresses, but not their wives. When their lives intersect at a house party, Lord Julian hatches a plan to benefit them both.

With a marriage of convenience, Emily will use her society connections to promote the theater to a more respectable clientele and Julian will take her out from under the shadows of her father’s unsavory associates. But they soon realize they have very different plans for their marriage—Julian wants Emily to remain a society wife, while Emily discovers an interest in the theater. But when a fleeing actress, murderous kitten, and meddlesome friends enter the fray, Emily and Julian will have to confront the fact that their marriage of convenience comes with rather inconvenient feelings.

With “an arch sense of humor and a marvelously witty voice that rivals the best of the Regency authors” (Entertainment Weekly), Martha Waters crafts another fresh romantic comedy that for fans of Julia Quinn and Evie Dunmore.

About The Author

Photograph by Ryan Chamberlain

Martha Waters is the author of the Regency Vows series, which includes To Have and to Hoax, To Love and to Loathe, To Marry and to Meddle, and To Swoon and to Spar. She was born and raised in sunny south Florida and is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She lives in coastal Maine, where she works as a children’s librarian by day, and loves sundresses, gin cocktails, and traveling.  

About The Readers

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (April 5, 2022)
  • Runtime: 9 hours and 35 minutes
  • ISBN13: 9781797138695

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Martha Waters

More books in this series: The Regency Vows