Skip to Main Content

Who Stole the Hazelnuts?

Published by NorthSouth Books
Distributed by Simon & Schuster
See More Retailers

A new book from the author of the bestselling Rainbow Fish series!

The peace and quiet of the forest are shattered by a scream. Someone has stolen the squirrel’s three hazelnuts! Who could have committed such a terrible crime? The squirrel begins his investigation, and no one is above suspicion. 

Marcus Pfister was born in Bern, Switzerland. After studying at the Art School of Bern, he apprenticed as a graphic designer and worked in an advertising agency before becoming self-employed in 1984. His debut picture book, The Sleepy Owl, was published by NorthSouth in 1986, but his big breakthrough came 6 years later with The Rainbow Fish. Today, Marcus has illustrated over 50 books, which have been translated into more than 50 languages and received countless international awards. He lives with his wife Debora and his children in Bern.

Vibrant, layered illustrations in lush woodland colors...

– Kirkus Reviews

Set against Pfister’s earth-toned, softly focused renderings of an idyllic woodland setting, the suspects’ similarly phrased proclamations of innocence are well crafted for reading aloud… It’s a lesson entertainingly learned—and one that will easily spark dialogue.

– Publishers Weekly

A fabulously illustrated tale, this fun and educational story is perfect for most young readers.

– School Library Journal

More books from this author: Marcus Pfister